March 29, 2016

Adult Library Programs in April and May



Redmond Public Library 
Adult Programs April and May 2016


Events
Library Book Club -- Discuss The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin Thursday, April 14, 12—1 p.m. 
Ukulele Song Circle -- Join Cinda Johnson for an hour of singing and strumming. Participants must have their own instruments and have completed a Uke Can Do It course. Saturday, April 16, 1—2 p.m.

A Novel Idea: Community Read Program  
Book Discussion -- Discuss this year’s A Novel Idea pick Euphoria, by Lily King.Saturday, April 23, 1—2 p.m.
Taking Note Screening -- Watch the 1981 PBS documentary highlight the life and work of Margaret Mead. Saturday, April 23, 2:30—4 p.m.
A Menace in New Guinea and Throughout the Tropics -- Dr. Michael Riscoe of Oregon Health & Sciences University, describes malaria and discusses its devastating impact on global health. Tuesday, April 26, 6—7 p.m.
Anthropology & the Sacred -- Amy Harper explores the ways in which anthropology contributed to a trend of acquisition and display of cultural artifacts. Saturday, April 30, 2—3 p.m. 
Delivering Engaging Presentations -- SCORE mentor Ed Weisser teaches you how to Use PowerPoint and other tools to entertain while selling your message. Tuesday, May 3, 6:30—8 p.m.
Library Book Club -- Discuss The Marriage of Opposites by Alice Hoffman. Thursday, May 12, 12—1 p.m.
Know 1930s -- The Old Town Is Changed – A Journey into a Bend You Never Knew Actor and folklorist Alastair Morley Jaques presents an historical and narrative journey into Depression Era Central Oregon. Friday, May 13, 4—5 p.m.
Prohibition and Distilling -- Get the history of prohibition and distilling with Murray Godfrey of COCC and Brad Irwin of Oregon Spirit. Space limited, ages 21+ only. Tuesday, May 24, 6—7 p.m.
Introduction to Finding Grants -- Discover what funders look for in nonprofits seeking grants. Tuesday, May 17, 10:00—11:30 a.m.
 
Computer Classes  
Open Computer -- Lab Practice or get help with tech questions. Tuesdays, 1:30—3 p.m. 
Craigslist for Beginners -- Learn to safely buy and sell on Craigslist Friday, May 6, 2—3:30 p.m.
Facebook for Beginners -- Learn the basics. Friday, May 20, 2—3:30 p.m.
Windows 10 -- Learn the ins-and-outs of Windows 10. Saturday, May 21, 10:30 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Art Shows
Annual High School Art Show 
Works by students of Ridgeview High, Redmond High and Redmond Proficiency Academy.

Silent Reading Room
Watercolor portraits by Lauren Jackson.

No comments: