Bookshelf

by Josie Hanneman

I was recently lucky enough to go a national gathering of librarians — the American Library Association’s Annual Conference.

At this conference, I learned about new ways to serve youth, interesting innovations in library architecture and planning, and trends in publishing. On this last front, various publishers shared their wares, and tried to get librarians and the reading public excited about new, yet-to-be published titles.

They were completely successful with me! I want to share a few of these upcoming offerings, and great titles by the same authors, or on similar topics, if you can’t quite wait for the future pieces.

“I Lost My Tooth” by Mo Williams, available October 2018

An ensemble cast searches for Zoom Squirrel’s lost tooth amidst a variety show of characters or storylines. Fans of Elephant and Piggie who are reading at a slightly higher level will love this new book from one of my favorite children’s authors. Great for your early elementary student.

Can’t wait until October? Try one of my favorite Elephant and Piggie books: There Is a Bird on Your Head by Mo Willems, or the newer The Itchy Book by Pham LeYuen.

“Rosie Revere and the Raucous Riveters: The Questioneers Book #1” by Andrea Beaty, available October 2018

If Rosie Revere, Iggy Peck and Ada Twist were right up your ally, check out this new chapter book by the same beloved author. We can look forward to engineering flops, and maybe scientific breakthroughs as Rosie and her pals need to come up with an invention to save the day. Give this to a 3-5 grade reader.

Can’t wait until October? The picture book series by Beaty will give you all the background information you need. Or try these science and engineering titles: The Book of Massively Epic Engineering Disasters by Sean Connolly and Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones.

“Hocus Pocus and the All-New Squeal” by A.W. Jantha, available now!

This title has a new retelling of the original film, plus a sequel to delight old-school fans. Great book for a teen audience.

— Josie Hanneman is a community librarian at the Redmond Public Library. josieh@dpls.lib.or.usfa

21068230